It’s All There… The Madness In This Millennial’s Mind

I would be doing my soul an egregious disservice if I don’t write tonight.

Not only have I found myself in yet another pattern of inconsistency, I’ve burdened my load with more acts of ambition but with no sure way of going about doing any of it.

I feel all over the place.

In my mind the picture of my life looks like a messy desktop housed in an abandoned room-turned-office, in the furthest corner of a really old mansion. Papers strewn here and there, no categorization, no priority, no sequence, no order; nevertheless, it is ALL there. A rolodex barely sits on the edge. Two empty staplers and a numberless amount of bent paper clips line the crevices of the desk, simulating the grooves on my brain. Strips of scotch tape have lost their adhesiveness due to old age. The corners fold upward. Separating themselves from the pages. Pink slips and final notices, memos, irrelevant telephone messages, old fax confirmation sheets and crumbled up receipts clutter the already cluttered desk inside my head. Amid all of this mess, I am searching for a very important document, as I run 15 minutes late–it’s  always fifteen right?–to a meeting I should have attended 10 years ago.

Where did I go wrong?

At which point did I turn left when I should have gone right?

I have NO CLUE what the hell I am doing. No different that your average millennial.

Alas, while the “average millennial” is probably somewhere spending his time playing Pokémon Go, I sit before my computer. Searching my mind for ways to quickly retrieve that very important document that I needed many yesterdays ago. Allowing my fingertips to clatter away at the keyboard on my still very new Macbook Pro (another new commitment that I may explain at a later date). Listening to the ‘indie’ station on Music Choice as countless artists do the very thing I wish I could be sure of doing. Chasing their dreams.

I digress.

As I seek the answers of tomorrow, I can’t help but to remain stuck on where I put that very important document just yesterday.

-Dannie-

3 thoughts on “It’s All There… The Madness In This Millennial’s Mind

  1. This is wonderfully written! Like you I struggle with my ambition with what is actually feasible to achieve. The untidy workspace is a great metaphor for it. Trying to juggle so many things at once etc. I try to meditate on a daily basis. It helps keep me in the here and now, which is the best place to be in my opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love existing in the here and now whenever I can. As you can probably imagine, my mind gets carried away. The thoughts, the goals, my dreams, they all overwhelm me. Sometimes I wonder if I’m asking too much from life. I have to recenter myself and get back to meditating daily again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment